r-pod Nation Homepage R-Pod Travel Trailers At Jeff Couchs RV Nation
Forum Home Forum Home > Forest River r-pod > Miscellaneous / Off-topic
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Towing / WD/Sway Control

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SCPod Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Towing / WD/Sway Control
    Posted: 02 Jun 2015 at 11:27am
I'm new to camping and towing. I just purchased a 2015 179. My TV is a 2012 Tacoma Dbl cab 4x4 with factory tow package and a Prodigy 2 break control. I have also installed a simple friction sway bar. So far I've only towed it home from the dealer, about 115 miles of interstate and had no trouble. However, I'm confused about weather or not I need a weight distribution/sway control hitch system.   When I read the various forums on the subject it seems that most people say that it's necessary with some folks saying its absolutely not necessary.   I have talked with three RV/TT dealers and they all say it's not necessary (and they could have sold me one if they said it was needed). I talked with a person who brokers and delivers RV/TT around the country he says not needed on my TT/TV combination. In addition I've talked with reps from the manufacturer of two top name WD/Sway systems and say not needed one my combination. Although I didn't understand much of the science one of the dealers and a manufacture rep said that using a WD/Sway system with a light weight single axle trailer actually can create a dangerous situation, they said the simple sway bar and break controller are best and safest when used correctly.
With all that said I still feel that all of the folks who post about the value of these systems can't all be wrong. What am I missing? Any thoughts would be appreciated.   I want to err on the side of safety and saving money is not the issue.
Thanks!
Tomcamper View Drop Down